Skip to content ↓

Oakley Vale Primary school

Class Read - Storytime

Literature is probably the most powerful medium through which children have a chance to inhabit the lives of those who are like them. All children need to imagine themselves as the main protagonist in a story: celebrating a birthday, going shopping, being ill, having a tantrum, having their hair cut, worrying about a new sibling, being the superhero, going camping, visiting the seaside and having adventures.

 

Every day your child will be immersed in story as their teacher reads a great book for them to listen to, talk about, think about and enjoy.

Here are the books each teacher is currently reading to their class:

 

Percy's Friend the Mole (Percy's Friends, Book 7) by Nick Butterworth (2002-03-04)Year 1 Moles Class

The Mole by Nick Butterworth

 

 

 

Artemis FowlYThe Boy Who Biked the World: On the Road to Africa: Part One: On the Road to Africa: 1.00ear 2 Swifts Class

The Boy Who Biked the World by Alastair Humphreys

Previous story time reads in Swifts class:

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

 

 

 

Kensuke's KingdomThe Boy Who Biked the World: On the Road to Africa: Part One: On the Road to Africa: 1.00Year 2 Owls Class

The Boy Who Biked the World by Alastair Humphreys

Previous story time reads in Owls class:

Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

 

 

 

The Wild Way HomeThe Building Boy: 1

Year 3 Badgers Class

The Building Boy by Ross Montgomerey & David Litchfield

Previous story time reads in Badgers class:

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

 

 

 

The Legend of Podkin One-Ear: Kieran LarwoodKensuke's KingdomAmari and the Night Brothers: the most magical children's fantasy series of  2021. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Men in Black! : Alston, BB:  Amazon.co.uk: Books

 

 

 

 

Year 4 Foxes Class

Amari & the Nigh Brothers by BB Alston

Previous story time reads in Foxes class:

Podkin- One - Ear by Kieran Larwood

Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

 

Varjak Paw (Varjak Paw, 1): Amazon.co.uk: Said, SF, McKean, Dave:  9780552572293: Books

 

 

 

 

Year 4 Adders Class

Varjak Paw by SF Said

Previous story time reads in Foxes class:

How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

Boy at The Back of the Class by Onjali Rauf

 

 

 

I Don't Like Poetry eBook : Seigal, Joshua: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle StoreSponsored Ad – Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone: 1/7 (Harry Potter, 1)

 

 

 

 

Year 5 Stags

Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone by JK Rowling

Previous story time reads in Stags class:

I Don't Like Poetry by Joshua Seigal

The Iron Man by Ted Hughes

 

 

The Christmas Pig

Who Let the Gods Out?: the first EPIC laugh-out-loud adventure in Maz  Evans's bestselling series: 1: Amazon.co.uk: Evans, Maz: 9781910655412:  Books

Year 5 Wolves

Bright Bursts of Colour a collection of poems my Matt Goodfellow

and Who Let The Gods Out by Max Evans

Previous story time reads in Wolves class:

The Iron Woman by Ted Hughes

My Friend Walter by Micael Morpurgo

The Christmas Pig by JK Rowling

 

 

Mohinder's War (Flashbacks)Then (Once/Now/Then/After)

 

 

 

 

Year 6 Red Kites

Then by Morris Gleitzman

Previous story time reads in Red Kites Class:

Mohinder's War by Bali Rai

Frankensteine by Mary Shelly

 

 

 

Then (Once/Now/Then/After)Year 6 Hawks 

Previous story time reads in Hawks Class:

Then by Morris Gleitzman

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett