Skip to content ↓

Oakley Vale Primary school

Class Read - Storytime

Literature is probably the most powerful medium through which children have a chance to inhabit the lives of those who are like them. All children need to imagine themselves as the main protagonist in a story: celebrating a birthday, going shopping, being ill, having a tantrum, having their hair cut, worrying about a new sibling, being the superhero, going camping, visiting the seaside and having adventures.

 

Every day your child will be immersed in story as their teacher reads a great book for them to listen to, talk about, think about and enjoy.

Here are the books each teacher is currently reading to their class:

 

Year 1 

Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree, adapted by Bob Totten

Winnie The Pooh & The Honey Tree: Amazon.co.uk: Campbell, Janet, Kurtz,  John: 0413013571113: Books

The Opposite : MacRae, Tom, Odriozola, Elena: Amazon.co.uk: BooksPercy's Friend the Mole (Percy's Friends, Book 7) by Nick Butterworth (2002-03-04)You're Called What? : Kes Gray, : 9781509894819 : Blackwell'sThe Boy who cried Wolf by Mairi Mackinnon, Carl Gordon | Waterstones

Chocolate Cake: Amazon.co.uk: Rosen, Michael, Waldron, Kevin, Waldron,  Kevin: 9780141379203: BooksWho's Afraid of the Big Bad Book?: Amazon.co.uk: Child, Lauren:  9781408307724: BooksThe Detective Dog Sticker Book : Donaldson, Julia, Ogilvie, Sara:  Amazon.co.uk: BooksBarbara Throws a Wobbler: Amazon.co.uk: Shireen, Nadia: 9781780081366: Books

On Sudden Hill: Amazon.co.uk: Sarah, Linda, Davies, Benji: 9781471119293:  Books

I'm Sticking with You by Smriti Prasadam-Halls

Previous story time reads in Moles class:

The Mole by Nick Butterworth

The Opposite, by Tom McRae

You're Called What? by Kes Gray

The Boy Who Cried Wolf, by Mike and Carl Gordon

Chocolate Cake, by Michael Rosen

Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Book, by Lauren Child

Detective Dog, by Julia Donaldson

Barbara Throws a Wobbler, by Nadia Shireen

I'm Sticking with You, by Smriti Prasadam-Halls

On Sudden Hill, by Linda Sarah

 

Year 2 Swifts Class

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory : Roald Dahl (author), : 9780141369372 :  Blackwell'sThe Boy Who Biked the World: On the Road to Africa: Part One: On the Road to Africa: 1.00

Artemis Fowl

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Swifts class:

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

The Boy Who Biked the World by Alastair Humphreys

 

Year 2 Owls Class

The Boy Who Biked the World by Alastair Humphreys


Kensuke's KingdomThe Boy Who Biked the World: On the Road to Africa: Part One: On the Road to Africa: 1.00

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Owls class:

Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

 

 

Year 3 Badgers Class

Thieves of Ostia by Caroline Lawrence

The Wild Way HomeThe Building Boy: 1Leonora Bolt: Secret Inventor

Previous story time reads in Badgers class:

The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley

The Building Boy by Ross Montgomerey & David Litchfield

Leorna Bolt by Lucy Brandt

 

Year 4 Foxes Class

Amari & the Nigh Brothers by BB Alston

The Legend of Podkin One-Ear: Kieran LarwoodKensuke's KingdomAmari and the Night Brothers: the most magical children's fantasy series of  2021. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Men in Black! : Alston, BB:  Amazon.co.uk: Books

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Foxes class:

Podkin- One - Ear by Kieran Larwood

Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

 

Year 4 Adders Class

Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

Varjak Paw (Varjak Paw, 1): Amazon.co.uk: Said, SF, McKean, Dave:  9780552572293: Books

Kensuke's Kingdom

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Foxes class:

How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

Boy at The Back of the Class by Onjali Rauf

Varjak Paw by SF Said

 

 

Year 5 Stags

Solve your own mystery: The Time Thief

I Don't Like Poetry eBook : Seigal, Joshua: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle StoreSponsored Ad – Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone: 1/7 (Harry Potter, 1)

Little Lemur Laughing : Seigal, Joshua: Amazon.co.uk: BooksYapping Away by Joshua Seigal, Sarah Horne | WaterstonesSolve Your Own Mystery: The Time Thief: 2 (Solve Your Own Mystery, 2):  Amazon.co.uk: Jones, Gareth P., Forshaw, Louise: 9781788953122: Books

Previous story time reads in Stags class:

I Don't Like Poetry by Joshua Seigal

The Iron Man by Ted Hughes

Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone by JK Rowling

Little Lemur Laughing by Joshua Seigal

Yapping Away by Joshua Seigal

Solve Your Own Mystery: The Monster Maker by Gareth P Jones

 

Year 5 Wolves

Bright Bursts of Colour a collection of poems my Matt Goodfellow

The Christmas Pig

Who Let the Gods Out?: the first EPIC laugh-out-loud adventure in Maz  Evans's bestselling series: 1: Amazon.co.uk: Evans, Maz: 9781910655412:  Books

Previous story time reads in Wolves class:

The Iron Woman by Ted Hughes

My Friend Walter by Micael Morpurgo

The Christmas Pig by JK Rowling

 

Year 6 Red Kites

Then by Morris Gleitzman

Mohinder's War (Flashbacks)Then (Once/Now/Then/After)

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Red Kites Class:

Mohinder's War by Bali Rai

Frankensteine by Mary Shelly

 

Year 6 Hawks 

 

Then (Once/Now/Then/After)

 

 

 

 

Previous story time reads in Hawks Class:

Then by Morris Gleitzman

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett